Toxic Childhood Stress : The Legacy of Early Trauma and How to Heal | General | General | Family, Health & Relationships | Non-Fiction | Books | Makro Online Site
text.skipToContenttext.skipToNavigation
Login or Register
Get the tailored Makro experience. Login for faster checkout, online order tracking and more.
Toxic Childhood Stress : The Legacy of Early Trauma and How to Heal Product ID : 9781509823987

R 18400

UCount rewards  1840
Available online only
In stock
5 - 7 working days

Online Exclusive

This product is exclusive to online shopping and may only be purchased online as it is not stocked in-store.

3RD PARTY ITEM

This is supplied by BalaKuduPtyLtd and may result in additional delivery fees.

*Previously published as The Deepest Well* 'Finally after thirty years, I finally understood . . . this book holds the answers you've been searching for.' Kerry Hudson The Surgeon General of California reveals pioneering research on how childhood stress leads to lifelong health problems and what we can do to break the cycle. Perfect for fans of The Body Keeps the Score by Bessel van der Kolk, this eye-opening book includes a free Adverse Childhood Experience test and looks at the widespread crisis of trauma and childhood adversity through the objective lens of science and medicine, providing a roadmap for deeper understanding and change. It is vital now more than ever, as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic, that we find a way to address, understand and heal trauma. Two thirds of us have experienced at least one adverse childhood experience, from the likes of bereavement and divorce to abuse and neglect. In Toxic Childhood Stress Dr Burke Harris reveals the science behind childhood adversity and offers a new way of understanding the adverse events that affect us throughout our lifetime. Based on her own groundbreaking clinical work and public leadership, Dr Burke Harris shows us how we can disrupt this cycle through interventions that help retrain the brain and body, foster resilience, and help children, families, and adults live healthier, happier lives. When a young boy walked into Dr Nadine Burke Harris's clinic he looked healthy for a preschooler. But he was seven, and hadn't grown a centimetre since a traumatic event when he was four. At that moment Dr Burke Harris knew that her gut feeling about a connection between childhood stress and future ill health was more than just a hunch - and she began her journey into groundbreaking research with stunning results.

Features
Model
9781509823987
Product/Packaging Information
Product Weight
0.196 kg
Product Dimensions
196mm(L) x 130mm(W) x 15mm(H)
Shipping Weight
0.196 kg
Shipping Dimensions
196mm(L) x 130mm(W) x 15mm(H)