The Ruin : 'As moving as it is fast-paced' Val McDermid | Crime, Thriller & Adventure | Crime, Thriller & Adventure | Thriller | General Fiction | Books | Makro Online Site
text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
Login or Register
Get the tailored Makro experience. Login for faster checkout, online order tracking and more.
All liquor stores will be closed until further notice as per government regulation. Liquor will be unavailable for purchase online or in-store. See what we are doing to keep our customers and staff safe from COVID-19 here
The Ruin : 'As moving as it is fast-paced' Val McDermid Product ID : 9780751569315

R 17630

eBucks  1763
UCount rewards  1763
Available online only
In stock
7 - 10 working days

Online Exclusive

This product is exclusive to online shopping and may only be purchased online as it is not stocked in-store.

3RD PARTY ITEM

This is supplied by Bookstore and may result in additional delivery fees.

'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL ***** February 1993 On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013 Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner. ***** Praise for THE RUIN: 'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR 'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES 'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID 'Loved THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan. A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL, 'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER 'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR 'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE 'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY 'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

Features
Model
9780751569315
Product/Packaging Information
Product Weight
0.274 kg
Product Dimensions
201mm(L) x 127mm(W) x 25mm(H)
Shipping Weight
0.274 kg
Shipping Dimensions
201mm(L) x 127mm(W) x 25mm(H)

    Write a review

    Share your opinions about this product with other Makro shoppers.

    Do not use offensive language

    Do not disclose your, or others', personal information
    0

    By submitting this review, you agree to the terms and conditions. Makro retains full discretion whether to publish your review.

    Contact us if you are unsatisfied with the item that you have received.